Ombré, Hombre.

Recently I have been seeing a lot of women rocking the shit out of Ombré hair, and I couldn’t help but want to jump on that train. 

For those of you who are slightly unaware of this new trend, Ombré is just a fancy way of describing anything that starts out dark and gradually gets lighter. Of course this seemed absolutely exciting to me, like all of my favorite fashion statements this one can be slightly underrated.

Have you ever seen a girl with hair bleached so light it almost looks white, far beyond any hopes of her hair being healthy. She is overdue for a hair appointment, and she lets her dark brown roots come in. That is how most people imagine Ombré hair, and they are kind of right. It is exactly the sort of trashy, heroin chic bullshit I just eat up.

I decided to try color my hair at home, being the control freak I am. Naturally, I asked for a little help from my roommate, an extra set of eyes is all to important for making absolute sure my hair won’t get all tiger striped. We went to the drug store to pick up two boxes of hair dye (You can never be too safe) and some sour patch kids for a little sugar rush. My hair was already dark brown, so we simply applied color starting at the tips, and worked our way up. We used a toothbrush to blend the color in, what with being such classy ladies and all. The brush really was helpful with blending in the line where brown meets gold-ish blond. Gradually changing and getting lighter, instead of looking so defined and harsh.

Boom, Simple and ghetto style. We got it done, and I am completely pleased with the outcome.

ImagePlease excuse the horrific lighting // quality of this photo. I blame cell phones.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

