The worst list I ever made

For the first time ever in my life, I will be flying alone, and to be quite honest I’m sort of terrified. I’ll be flying out of Cleveland, transferring in Chicago, and ending in Minneapolis on the 27th. I want to fuck it up right, wait no I don’t want to fuck it up at all! Sadly the possibilities of me getting lost or ending up being too immersed in a book and missing my flight are too likely the outcome I shall see. What if my cat sneaks into my luggage and jumps out while we’re in the air or something, this is just the kind of ridiculousness my dreams are made of. Okay, okay, I realize these are childlike fears and I’ll most likely have a rather pleasant experience. Now about that whole packing thing….

 

                                      Come on, this is a completely rational fear, guys.

It’s time to put on my big girl panties and let this one go, If I’m about to live in a city 16 hours away from everything I know I better not let these silly girlish fears consume me. All my of belongings have to fit into two checked bags, a carry on, and a purse. Furniture will obviously be bought from ikea that’s literally a 15 minute drive from the new loft, along with various adorable things ikea sells that I don’t really need. Here’s my list of things I want to bring, (knocking off clothes/shoes/makeup/other girly products) but I am on the edge of saying no to a few of them….

  1. Wooden Teal Owl Piggy Bank. (Who else to hold my pennies?)
  2. Three Bamboo Shoots (Come on, they are good luck)
  3. Acoustic Guitar (Fulfilling my musical needs)
  4. iPad2 (Reasons quite obvious)
  5. Sewing Machine (Creative needs/awesomeness)
  6. Paintings/Photographs (Asti Cinzano/art I made)
  7. Awesome Medieval-Esc Cross (Need I say more?)
  8. Roller Skates (The hottest thing with 8 wheels)
  9. Bronze Crab Ash Tray (The claws serve as cigarette holders)
  10. Books, Books, And More Books. (Word nerd)

Looking over this list I’ve realized a few things, firstly that I am attached to the strangest of things, and secondly that none of this shit is going to travel well… Oh, minus the iPad, that thing is practically weightless. So, I’ve rather reluctantly came to the conclusion that even half of my list won’t be fitting into a few bags and travelign with me.  

The Owl Bank is coming with me, I just have to remember to cash all my pennies in at CoinStar before boarding the plane. It completely counts as a necessity, plus it’s kind of the cutest of all cuteness. I mean if you show me a more adorable kick ass piggy bank I’ll give  you 100$. Except not really, I’m poor and moving.

Bamboo Sorry I’m not sorry, you’re gonna have to keep someone else lucky. Guitar is simply going to have to wait until I visit for holidays, along with the books/sewing machine/paintings. Ipad2 will conveniently fit into my backpack, thanks for being tiny apple products! Cross thing oh how I long to bring you, but it’s not me it’s you, you’ll understand. If I bring you, I’ll either seem like some sort of over the top christian whack job,  or I’ll seem like I’m trying be the next Van Helsing and slay the shit out of some vampires. Either way, not too sure how security would feel about you.

Roller Skates I could never dream of leaving you behind, even when you give me horrendous bruises, I’d never tear up the streets with anyone else.

 

Ash Tray, you’re a crab, that’s awesome, but I don’t smoke, that’s also awesome. You’re staying in Ohio, goodbye. Books will be divided into most important and least important, I’ll take about 5 of you on the flight, the rest will have to wait for the holidays.

Oh, look at that, I just resolved quite a few of my irrational fears and tore my list up. Now it’s time to not so patiently await my flight away from Ohio.

10 comments
  1. HA. I love your list! You must take the crab ash try. What if you run into someone famous and fabulous outside the airport looking for a place to put out the cigarette that is the only key to their being so skinny and you can’t offer one from your carry-on as a conversation starter. You will be kicking yourself.

  2. The first time I left home to venture out over 3000 miles away..I packed all the things that I cherished the most in my suitcase and checked it into baggage for the long flight across the country…………oh it’s was un-forgetable……the airline lost my luggage never to be found again……..

    nice post!

    spread the humor:charlywalker.wordpress.com

    • Oh, I’m sorry! I certainly hope that doesn’t happen to my baggage, i’d cry. Literally.

  3. notlateone said:

    Hey, thanks for the like!

    Minneapolis is a GREAT city! I’ve been in Ohio before–not Cleveland, though–and I think you’ll appreciate the different feel of Minneapolis. Minnesota as a whole definitely doesn’t feel like the mid-west, but still has a creative-edgy-scene. It also has amazingly creative architecture–skyways, walkways, subways, etc–because it gets so chilly there!

    Plus, Mall of America is a great plus. 😛 But don’t go there for normal shopping–I got crappy deals there. On my About page, in the second picture with me in a strange hat, I got that shirt/tunic I’m wearing at a store called Rainbow at MoA. It was crappily made, thus forever ruining my impression of MoA shopping! Go for the coasters and the fun cafes.

    Moving is hard, I so agree! It’s frustrating to have to decide what to take with ya. 😛

    • Exactly! I was in Minneapolis for a week or so last month and found the differences quite refreshing, I also really adore the enormous biking scene there!

  4. 5 books is good. Then you’ll have a mission (which will make you less homesick) – finding an awesome used book store! (Or several) Plus it’s a good conversation starter with strangers to make new friends. Whala, right?

    • I’m into it, yeah! And then all I’ll need to do is find a really cute coffee shop to go on facebook oops I mean study in. ;D

  5. Jenny said:

    I hope your flight went ok! I am terrified of flying, period. I went flying for the first time last year in 17 years, and I was all by myself. I was scared too!

    • Glad I’m not alone!
      I still have 5 days on anticipation left before my flight takes off. Hopefully it all goes well, but I’ve got my doubts.

Leave a Reply

