Drink black coffee

I’ve been a coffee enthusiast my whole life, it kind of runs in the family.

Prepare for a little barista drama. (Note, this is a pre-Minneapolis post. I am in Cleveland for a few more weeks) Working at a coffee shop (City Roast) located in the Westside Market (Origins of the market date back to 1840. It is Cleveland’s oldest publicly owned market) has only helped my coffee snobbery grow. I am the first to admit that I am quite critical, but I’ve never really thought to criticize someone based on their favorite coffee drinks. Coffee is the trendy thing to drink, coffee shops are the trendy place to be, and barista’s have been enjoying the tips received by these faithful trend followers. So naturally, we try are very best to be understanding. It’s become rather apparent how coffee shops have become a sort of “pre-bar” hangout for anyone who isn’t legal, and that’s completely fine, better there than getting thrown out of some sleazy bar, right?

But here’s the tragedy, when these people get coffee they order some inhumanly sweet blended concoction that hardly even resembles coffee anymore, the two shots of espresso are overthrown by 6 shots of chocolate and filled to the top with half&half. I’ve been observing with my co-workers that it isn’t simply the pre-bar kids ordering these drinks, it’s everyone. To be quite frank, they are delicious! However, they are delicious milkshakes, and they are for drinking in moderation. This shouldn’t be ones “fuck I didn’t have time to make coffee this morning” quick coffee stop drink. Not for everyday, Yuck! How does one drink these calorie packed things and not end up morbidly obese or in sugar coma? Like I said, they are delicious girly fru-fru dirty secret drinks of wonder, to be had on occasion guys!
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

<-When did this 

Turn into this? v

7 comments
  1. I’m trying so hard to quit the “real” stuff but I love it soooo much, I had one with a foam heart this morning and espresso will never fail to make my heart and mind happy : )

    • I think if you love something, there’s really no need to quit it, unless it’s something that’s a complete hazard. I quite fancy lattes; I drink at least two every time I go to work. I think it’s awesome when people do latte art, I accidentally did antlers a few times.

  2. Word, girl. These things only contribute to the growing obesity problem. Starbucks will share splinters from that cross we are bearing.

    I like you site. I hope you keep blogging.

  3. Antlers?! I would buy even more coffee if there was different daily foam art : ) haha I just love it

    • Like underwear for each day of the week! Except with coffee!

  4. Mmmm liquid candy … Now I have a new thing to be neurotic about, if the barrista approves. ha.

Leave a Reply

